LitSite Home

Return to:   Rise of the Alaska Native Brotherhood - The Alaska Native Brotherhood was born in 1912, when a dozen Native men first gathered in Juneau.
 previous Gallery Thumbnails  next
Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945

Governor Ernest Gruening signs the Anti-Discrimination Act of 1945 while surrounded by those who worked hard for its passage. From left, Senator O.D. Cochran, a Nome Democrat; Elizabeth Peratrovich, Grand President of the Alaska Native Sisterhood; Rep. Edward Anderson, a Klawock Democrat; Senator N.R. Walker, a Ketchikan Democrat; and Roy Peratrovich, a Klawock Democrat and five-time Grand President of the Alaska Native Brotherhood. Alaska State Library.

For more information about this image click here. 

  Contact Us       LitSite Alaska, Copyright © 2000 - 2017. All rights reserved. University of Alaska Anchorage.
University of Alaska Anchorage